2017 Conference

November 2-4 
Long Beach California 
The Queen Mary
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802

Long Beach Convention Ctr. Micro Site

Questions about conference? Email


African Heritage Studies Association

President: Lisa Aubrey 



Copyright [AHSA].

All Rights Reserved.

Like us on FACEBOOK

​​Click Here for membership information.

Membership Fees:

Regular: $100

Retirees: $75

Student: $50

Life Member: $1,500

Click Paypal button above to pay Membership and Conference Registration Fees.

A review of AHSA's goals and former conference programs illustrate the importance of AHSA's role as the major challenger of  the Eurocentric view of Africa and African Studies.

​​AHSA Commissions

Archival Commission, Shiela Flemming-Hunter, Commissioner. Members:  Ann Swanson andWilliam Dorsery      

  Education Commission: TBA

AHSA History Commission: Leonard Jefferies, Commissioner. Members: Shelby Lewis and James Turner

Policy and Activism Commission: Mack Jones, Commissioner. Members: William Boone and Gloria Braxton

Annual Conference Commission: Mae King, Commissioner. Members: Shelby Lewis, Festus Ohaebulam and William Boone, Chair, Local Arrangement Committee.


Past Presidents

1969-1972, John Henrik Clarke
1972-1976, James Turner
1976-1980, Ronald Walters
1980-1982, Leonard Jeffries
1982-1984, James Turner
1985-1989, W. Ofuatey-Kodjoe
1985-1989, Charshee McIntyre
1992-1996, William “Nick” Nelson, Jr.
1996-1999, LaVerme Gyant
1999-2002, Leslie Alexander
2002-2006, Abdul Nanji


The organization grew out of a protest at the 1968 African Studies Association (ASA) meeting in Los Angeles.  Led by Dr. John H. Clark, African descendant scholars demanded changes in ASA's Eurocentric approaches to African Studies and its marginalization of African descendant scholars.  Due to the failure of ASA to reform itself, the African descendant scholars occupied the 1969 ASA Annual Meeting in Montreal, with the support of scholars  from around the globe.  

Following the 1969 occupation, the concerned African descendants incorporated AHSA in New York in 1969 following a meeting at Federal City College. Dr. John H. Clark was the founding AHSA President and James Turner, Leonard Jeffries, Shelby Lewis (Smith), Nicholas Enyewu and Edward Scobie were among the founding Directors of the organization.   The 1st  AHSA Annual Conference was held at Howard University in 1970. The 2nd was held at Southern University (1971), the 3rd was held at (1972). 

It is important to note that AHSA successfully challenged the right of ASA to be seated as the official US delegation to the 1973 International Association of Africanists in Addis Ababa. The challenge resulted in Dr. John H. Clarke, AHSA's President, being selected to serve as leader of a joint AHSA-ASA delegation.   
Over the past four decades, AHSA has played a major role in promoting the heritage of African peoples through scholarly research, influencing US policy towards Africa, educational and cultural activities around the globe. The best and brightest African scholar/activists from have participated in AHSA annual conferences and are committed to renewing AHSA's quest goal of igniting an African Renaissance.   


AHSA Legacy

AHSA History